Weah Reclassifies Several AFL Personnel to Various Ranks

MONROVIA-The Commander-In-Chief of the Armed Forces of Liberia (AFL), President George Manneh Weah, on Monday, February 20, 2023 promoted several personnel of the AFL to various senior ranks, including Major, Captain, and 2nd Lieutenant.

Among those promoted to the various Ranks of Major within the AFL include Tarnue W. Woheel, Zoe J. Parwon, Edwin Samowar, and Albertha J.N. Clarke.

President Weah was also promoted to the Rank of Captain Reuben Benedict, Leon J.S. Snorton, Lewis  Johnson, Robin Vaye, and Barnard G. Barqoui.

Also promoted to the Rank of 2nd Lieutenant by the President are Krubo K  Kaazaku, Aaron K. Massaquoi, Emmanuella P. Tarr, Siafa F. Siryon, Jr., Rebecca Freeman, Krubo G. Zayzay, Alpha Fofana, Jr., Gbernee P.V.  Pearl, Doris L. Sannoh and Alfreda Poquee.

Others are David P. Gbormelee, Nanu S.K. Welleh, Koiyan M. Keleko, David P. Nawa, Grant Yarmie, Sumo A.W. Harris, Jr., James B. Dahn, Joyce Williams, Malaytaye J. Waymah, Joseph P. Lincoln, Nathaniel B. Davis, Jr., Macee K. Zonie, Anderson P. Sharmos, and Philip N. Karpeh, Jr.

The officers were nominated by President Weah on February 20, 2023, in keeping with Section 7.10 of the new Defense Act of 2008 and Article 54 of the 1986 Constitution which grants the President powers to nominate, and with the consent of the Senate, appoint and commission members of the AFL from the Rank of Lieutenant or its equivalent and above.

Subsequently, the Honorable Liberian Senate on February 22, 2023 confirmed the officers. They are expected to be commissioned on Friday, February 24, 2023 at a colorful ceremony.

Comments are closed.